BookingKoala vs ZenMaid (2026): House Cleaning Costs, Booking and Dispatch
Based on official pricing pages, product documentation and public owner feedback. We have not run a hands-on trial for this page yet. How we review
Winner for house cleaning
- Solo rig: Depends on your volume. ZenMaid Starter ($19/mo) wins if you stay under its cap of 40 appointments a month. Above that cap, BookingKoala Starter ($27/mo) costs $288 less over two years than ZenMaid Pro ($39/mo) and includes a booking website.
- 3–5 person crew: ZenMaid Pro ($39/mo). It lists checklists, cleaner GPS and payroll on that plan. BookingKoala needs Growing ($57/mo) for GPS and SMS and lists neither checklists nor payroll. ZenMaid does not publish team-size pricing, so confirm with its calculator.
- Pure software cost: ZenMaid, on listed prices at every tier ($19, $39 and $49 versus $27, $57 and $197). It is not an all-in number, because SMS is billed separately at an unpublished rate. Neither publishes annual pricing, so this compares monthly rates only.
Both tools are sold to maid and house cleaning businesses. They start from opposite ends of the job.
BookingKoala is a booking website first. Customers land on your site, pick a service, choose a time and book. ZenMaid is a scheduling and dispatch calendar first. It is built for an office that slots recurring clients onto cleaners’ days and keeps the team on track.
So the deciding question is simple: do your customers book themselves, or does your office book them? Launch27, a third maid-service tool with unlimited users on every plan, is included below for bigger teams.
House cleaning workflow, feature by feature
| Compared on | BookingKoala | ZenMaid | Launch27 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Recurring visit scheduling | Not listed (smart scheduling on Starter); verify in trial | Spotfinder for recurring customers on Pro | Not listed; verify in trial |
| Online booking forms | Customizable on Starter; multi-step on Premium | Pro (ZenMaid branding); Pro Max (your branding) | Base (Launch27 branding); Pro (no branding) |
| Booking website and own domain | Starter | Not listed; verify in trial | Not listed; form embeds in WordPress, Wix or Squarespace |
| Cleaning checklists | Not listed; verify in trial | Digital checklists on Pro | Not listed; verify in trial |
| Team dispatch and map view | Not listed; verify in trial | Calendar, dispatch and map views on Starter | Bookings on a map on Pro |
| Cleaner GPS or clock-in | GPS and clock in/out on Growing | Cleaner GPS on Pro | Team check in/out alerts on Plus |
| Cleaner mobile app | Mobile access on Starter | Starter (no GPS); GPS from Pro | Plus only (English/Spanish) |
| Client reminders | SMS notifications on Growing | Limited SMS and email templates on Starter; SMS billed extra | Email on Base; text from Pro |
| Cleaner payroll | Not listed; verify in trial | Reports and payroll on Pro | Payroll manager with commission reports on Base |
| Cleaner availability and PTO | Not listed; verify in trial | Pro Max | Not listed; verify in trial |
| Volume limits | 5 providers on Starter, 15 on Growing, 50 on Premium | 40 appointments a month on Starter; unlimited on Pro | Unlimited users and bookings |
“Not listed” means the vendor’s pricing page does not mention it, not that the product can’t do it. Ask about anything you depend on during the trial.
Online booking and your website
BookingKoala puts the booking website at the center. Even Starter includes an advanced theme builder, your own domain, customizable booking forms, smart scheduling and one custom lead form. Premium adds multi-step booking forms, daily discounts and lead funnels. If you want new customers to see a price and book at 11 p.m. without calling, this is what it is built for.
ZenMaid’s booking forms start on Pro with ZenMaid branding. Forms with your own branding need Pro Max ($49/mo). Its pricing page does not list a website builder. Launch27 gives you a form to drop into an existing WordPress, Wix or Squarespace site.
Recurring scheduling and dispatch
ZenMaid puts the calendar at the center. Calendar, dispatch and map views come on every plan, and Pro adds a feature ZenMaid calls Spotfinder for recurring customers. BookingKoala lists smart scheduling but no dispatch or map view on its pricing page. If most of your revenue is weekly and biweekly regulars, test this side hardest.
Checklists
Only ZenMaid lists digital checklists, on Pro. If your crews work from a room-by-room list, ask BookingKoala and Launch27 how they handle it before you commit.
Cleaner GPS and clock-in
ZenMaid includes cleaner GPS on Pro ($39/mo); its Starter app has no GPS. BookingKoala has GPS and clock in/out on Growing ($57/mo). Launch27 puts team check in/out alerts and its mobile app on Plus at $299/mo.
Client text reminders
BookingKoala includes SMS notifications from Growing. ZenMaid has limited automated SMS and email templates on Starter, but SMS charges are billed on top of every plan at a rate the page does not state. Launch27 sends email reminders on Base and texts from Pro ($150/mo).
Paying cleaners
ZenMaid lists reports and payroll on Pro. Launch27 has a payroll manager with commission reports on Base. BookingKoala’s pricing page does not list payroll.
What owners are asking
One r/housekeeping thread starts with a cleaner who is getting busier, wants to streamline, and asks what tools others use for their website. If a booking website is what you are after, that is BookingKoala’s core pitch.
A Facebook group post asks which is easier for scheduling and paying cleaning crews, Square or BookingKoala. If paying crews is your main headache, remember the payroll gap above.
Watch competitor pages in search results too. One from TidyWise says ZenMaid has no payroll, but ZenMaid’s own pricing page lists reports and payroll on Pro. The same pricing page does confirm the entry plan is capped by bookings (40 appointments a month on Starter).
24-month cost
Assumptions: “users” means everyone on the team, owner included. BookingKoala counts every team member as a provider. Neither pricing page lists a first-year promo, so year two is priced the same as year one. Sales tax and card fees are excluded. Plans are the cheapest that give a cleaning crew client reminders and cleaner tracking, except where noted.
| Team size | BookingKoala, monthly billing | ZenMaid, monthly billing | Annual billing |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 user | $648 on Starter | $456 on Starter (under 40 appointments a month); $936 on Pro | Not published (either) |
| 3 users | $1,368 on Growing; $648 on Starter without SMS or GPS | $936 on Pro, plus any team-size charge (Not published) and SMS (Not published) | Not published (either) |
| 6 users | $1,368 on Growing (Starter caps at 5 providers) | $936 on Pro, plus any team-size charge (Not published) and SMS (Not published) | Not published (either) |
At 3 and 6 users, the listed gap is $432 over two years, driven by BookingKoala needing Growing for SMS and GPS, but ZenMaid’s unpublished team-size and SMS charges could shrink or erase it.
To match BookingKoala’s own-branded booking forms on ZenMaid, you need Pro Max: $1,176 over 24 months, still below BookingKoala Growing on listed prices.
Past 15 people
Going from 15 to 16 providers moves BookingKoala from Growing to Premium, a $140/mo jump. Premium at $197/mo is $4,728 over two years. Past 50 providers, larger Premium tiers cost more and are priced by providers, storage or contacts. ZenMaid does not publish team pricing, so get a number from its calculator.
Launch27 never charges per person. Base is $1,800 over two years month to month, or $1,530 on annual billing (15% off). Pro is $3,600 monthly or $3,060 annual. On annual billing, Base works out to $63.75/mo and Pro to $127.50/mo, at any headcount.
Fine print that changes the bill
- BookingKoala trial length: the banner shows both 14 and 30 days, but the FAQ says you are charged after 14. Your card is charged as soon as the trial ends, so set a reminder.
- BookingKoala campaign contacts can raise your monthly price on Premium. The page says this can be disabled.
- BookingKoala upgrades at plan limits are manual, and prices are listed as “starts at” before sales tax.
- ZenMaid SMS: ask for the per-message rate and estimate it against your reminder volume.
- ZenMaid headcount: run the pricing calculator with your real number of cleaners and office managers.
- Launch27 mobile app: if cleaners need an app in the field, budget for Plus at $299/mo.
Full price lists
| Plan | Users | Month-to-month | Billed annually | Notable features |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Starter | Up to 5 providers or 5 GB storage | $27/mo | Not listed |
|
| Growing | Up to 15 providers or 15 GB storage | $57/mo | Not listed |
|
| Premium | Up to 50 providers or 50 GB storage; 5,000 contacts | $197/mo | Not listed |
|
- Free trial: Free trial with all plan features. The banner shows both '14' and '30' days; the FAQ says you are charged after the 14-day free trial. You can switch between plans during the trial, and your card is charged immediately after the trial ends.
- Extra users: Each provider (including each team member) counts toward the plan limit. Larger Premium tiers run from 237 USD/mo (60 providers or 60 GB, 10,000 contacts) up to 597 USD/mo, priced by providers, storage or contacts. Upgrades at plan limits are manual.
- Billing: Prices shown as 'Starts at' per month. No annual pricing is stated. No contracts; you can cancel anytime. No setup fees for general help or connections; full store setup is referred to third parties. Sales tax is not included and is collected where required.
- Paid add-ons: Larger Premium tiers 237–597 USD/mo; Campaign contacts can raise monthly price (can be disabled); Domain purchase inside BookingKoala
| Plan | Users | Month-to-month | Billed annually | Notable features |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ZenMaid Starter | Not stated | $19/mo | Not listed |
|
| ZenMaid Pro | Not stated | $39/mo | Not listed |
|
| ZenMaid Pro Max | Not stated | $49/mo | Not listed |
|
- Free trial: Free 14-day trial; the page says there are no hidden fees and you can cancel the trial anytime from account settings
- Extra users: Not stated; the page has a price calculator asking how many cleaners and office managers you have, but no per-user rate is shown
- Billing: Month-to-month agreement, no contract or signature required; cancel anytime. SMS charges not included in plan prices. No annual pricing stated.
- Paid add-ons: SMS charges billed separately (rate not stated); Free import of contacts and calendar by the ZenMaid team
Who should pick which
- Choose BookingKoala if new customers find you online and you want them booking without a call. That goes double if you sell more than one service type, such as cleaning plus pest control.
- Choose ZenMaid if your revenue is recurring cleans scheduled by your office and you want checklists, GPS and payroll at the lowest listed price.
- Choose Launch27 if your team is large or growing fast and per-person limits would keep pushing you up a tier.
Skip BookingKoala if most of your work is regulars your office already schedules by phone or text; you would be paying for a website builder you won’t use. Also skip it if you have more than 15 cleaners and a tight budget, or you need phone support (support is listed as 24/7 by email).
Skip ZenMaid if you need QuickBooks now (listed as coming soon), want a booking website built for you, or need a firm all-in monthly number before you start. It is built for maid services only.
Skip Launch27 if you are small and price-sensitive. Base at $75/mo costs more than either rival’s middle plan, and the mobile app is on the $299 plan only.
Before you trial anything, check your prices with our house cleaning price calculator. For more options, including general field service tools like Jobber, see our best cleaning business software roundup. Then run the trial with real customers: book three recurring clients and one new online booking in each tool, and see which one your office actually wants to open.
BookingKoala
Best for self-serve online booking
BookingKoala
- Price
- from $27/mo
- Free trial
- Free trial with all plan features. The banner shows both '14' and '30' days; the FAQ says you are charged after the 14-day free trial. You can switch between plans during the trial, and your card is charged immediately after the trial ends.
- Prices checked
Good fit if
- Businesses wanting a booking website and forms from $27/mo
- Teams of up to 15 providers needing SMS and GPS clock-in ($57/mo)
- Companies running multiple industries, e.g. cleaning plus pest control
Skip it if
- Starter users needing SMS, GPS or advanced reports (requires Growing at $57/mo)
- Larger crews: every team member counts as a provider, so 16+ providers means Premium at $197/mo or more
- Buyers wanting phone support; the page lists 24/7 support via email only
What works
- Booking website and own domain on the $27 plan
- Works for more than one industry
- Gift cards and a referral system on Growing
- No contracts, cancel anytime
What doesn't
- Every team member counts toward the provider limit
- 16 or more providers means $197/mo or more
- SMS and GPS need Growing
- Checklists and payroll not listed
- Support listed as email only
ZenMaid
Best for office-scheduled recurring cleans
ZenMaid
- Price
- from $19/mo
- Free trial
- Free 14-day trial; the page says there are no hidden fees and you can cancel the trial anytime from account settings
- Prices checked
Good fit if
- New maid services booking under 40 appointments a month on the $19 Starter plan
- Residential cleaning companies wanting unlimited appointments, checklists and cleaner GPS tracking at $39/month
- Owners switching systems who want free contact and calendar import
Skip it if
- Non-cleaning trades, since it is built specifically for maid services
- Businesses needing QuickBooks integration now (listed as coming soon)
- Buyers wanting predictable all-in pricing: SMS is extra and team-size pricing isn't spelled out
What works
- Lowest listed prices of the three
- Dispatch and map views on every plan
- Checklists, cleaner GPS and payroll on the $39 plan
- Free contact and calendar import
- Month-to-month, no contract
What doesn't
- SMS billed separately at an unpublished rate
- Team-size pricing not spelled out
- Starter capped at 40 appointments a month
- QuickBooks listed as coming soon
- No website builder listed
Launch27
Best for large teams
Launch27
- Price
- from $75/mo
- Free trial
- Page title advertises a 14-day risk-free trial and links to a free trial; no further trial terms given
- Prices checked
Good fit if
- Maid and housecleaning companies wanting online booking on their website
- Growing cleaning teams that need unlimited users and bookings
- Multi-location cleaning businesses on the $299/month Plus plan
Skip it if
- Businesses outside housecleaning; the product is built for maid services
- Budget buyers needing a cleaner mobile app, which requires the $299/month Plus plan
- Base plan users wanting text reminders or QuickBooks, which start at Pro ($150/month)
What works
- Unlimited users on every plan
- Payroll manager on Base
- 15% off with annual billing
- Multi-location calendars on Plus
What doesn't
- Highest entry price of the three
- Mobile app only on the $299 plan
- Text reminders and QuickBooks start at $150/mo
FAQ
Is ZenMaid cheaper than BookingKoala?
On listed prices, yes: ZenMaid is $19, $39 and $49 a month versus BookingKoala's $27, $57 and $197. Over two years, ZenMaid Pro is $936 versus $1,368 for BookingKoala Growing, but ZenMaid bills SMS separately and doesn't publish team-size pricing, so run its calculator with your headcount.
Does BookingKoala build a website for my cleaning business?
Its Starter plan ($27/mo) includes an advanced theme builder, your own domain and customizable booking forms. Full store setup is referred to third parties, but there's no setup fee for general help.
Can customers book online with ZenMaid?
Yes, from the Pro plan ($39/mo), with ZenMaid branding on the forms. Forms with your own branding need Pro Max ($49/mo). Booking forms aren't listed on Starter.
Which one works with QuickBooks?
ZenMaid lists QuickBooks as coming soon, and BookingKoala's pricing page doesn't list it. Launch27 includes QuickBooks on its Pro plan at $150/mo.
How long are the free trials?
ZenMaid and Launch27 both offer 14 days. BookingKoala's banner shows both 14 and 30 days, but its FAQ says you're charged after 14 days, and your card is billed as soon as the trial ends.