Best Software for Lawn Care Businesses (2026): 5 Picks for Routes and Design-Build
Based on official pricing pages, product documentation and public owner feedback. We have not run a hands-on trial for this page yet. How we review
On this page
Our picks
- Best for recurring treatment and mowing routes: GorillaDesk, from $99 a month per route with recurring billing
- Best for mowing crews that need route optimization: Service Autopilot Pro, $199 a month on an annual contract
- Best for landscape design-build: LMN, from $297 a month for 6 licenses
- Best all-rounder for mixed services: Jobber, Core from $29 a month billed annually
- Cheapest solo start: QuoteIQ Essentials, $29.99 a month with no annual commitment
Lawn businesses come in two shapes, and they need different software.
Maintenance companies (mowing, fertilizer and weed control, cleanups) live on recurring visits. They need a schedule that repeats itself, routes that keep trucks from crisscrossing town, a record of materials used, and billing that runs without the owner sending every invoice by hand.
Design-build landscapers (installs, hardscapes, plantings) sell projects. They need detailed estimates, budgets, job costing and multi-day scheduling. Route density matters less than whether the bid made money.
We picked tools for both, from solo mowers to crews of about 10. These picks are based on each vendor’s pricing page (checked October 27, 2026) and its published plan details.
Quick comparison
| Compared on | GorillaDesk | Service Autopilot | LMN | Jobber | QuoteIQ |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Solo | Basic $49 · Pro $99 (1 route) | Startup $49 (annual only, 1 mobile license) | Starter $297 (6 licenses) | Core $49 · $29 annual | Essentials $29.99 |
| 2–3 trucks | Pro: $149 for 2 routes, $199 for 3 | Pro $199 (2 mobile licenses) | Starter $297 (1 office + 5 crew) | Connect 5-user: $199 · $149 annual | Beginner $99.99 (2 users) · Pro $199.99 (4 users) |
| Crew of about 10 | Priced per route; office users free | Pro Plus $499 (5 mobile licenses) | Starter if under 10 employees; Professional $648 | Connect 10-user $299 · $229 annual; Grow 10-user $399 · $299 annual | Elite $299.99 (10 users) |
| Route optimization | Basic routing up to 25 stops; drive-time routing from Pro | From Pro | Not listed | Not listed in plan details | Elite |
| Billing terms | Monthly | Annual only, plus sign-up fee | Monthly, plus onboarding fee | Monthly or annual | Monthly, or yearly with 2 months free |
| Free trial | Yes, length not stated | Offered, terms not stated | Demo only | 14 days | 14 days |
The sticker price misleads in both directions. GorillaDesk bills per route, not per person, so office staff are free but every added truck raises the bill. Service Autopilot and LMN both add a one-time fee neither publishes. Jobber’s headline prices assume you prepay a year.
Mowing and treatment routes
Best for recurring treatment and mowing routes
GorillaDesk
- Price
- from $49/mo
- Free trial
- Free trial offered (length not stated)
- Prices checked
GorillaDesk is built for recurring route work: pest control, lawn treatments and pool service. It charges by route, with unlimited office users on every plan. Basic ($49) covers invoices, estimates and work orders, basic routing up to 25 stops, automated emails and texts, Square and Stripe payments, and material tracking. Pro ($99) is the plan most lawn routes want: recurring billing, drive-time routing, a customer portal with online booking, e-signatures, GPS tracking with a time clock, and QuickBooks Online sync. Growth ($149) adds map-based estimating, dynamic estimates and packages, a sales pipeline and multi-branch support.
Good fit if
- Recurring route work: pest control, lawn treatments, pool service
- Businesses with office staff (admins, managers and sales users are free)
Skip it if
- One-off project work such as remodeling or handyman jobs
- Owners who need trades outside pest, lawn, pool and cleaning
What works
- Office, admin and sales users are free on every plan
- Material tracking from the $49 Basic plan
- Recurring billing and drive-time routing on Pro
- Map-based estimating and packages on Growth
What doesn't
- Every added route raises the bill
- Basic routing stops at 25 stops
- Texting number and text credits cost extra
- Payments run through your own Square or Stripe account
Material tracking is the closest thing to chemical tracking on this list. The pricing page lists it on Basic but does not say whether it records product, rate and property for each application. If you need application records, test that in the trial before you load a season of customers. Texting needs a $5 monthly number plus text credits from $50 per 1,000.
Skip it if most of your revenue is one-off installs or hardscape projects. GorillaDesk names pest, lawn, pool and cleaning as its trades, and its routing and billing are built around repeat visits.
| Plan | Users | Month-to-month | Billed annually | Notable features |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Basic | 1 route, unlimited office users | $49/mo | Not listed |
|
| Pro | 1 route, unlimited office users | $99/mo | Not listed |
|
| Growth | 1 route, unlimited office users | $149/mo | Not listed |
|
- Free trial: Free trial offered (length not stated)
- Extra users: Priced per route, not per user: Basic +$50/mo for routes 2–3 then +$30; Pro +$50/mo per route; Growth +$100 for route 2 then +$50
- Payment processing: Through your Square or Stripe account
- Paid add-ons: Texting number $5/mo; Text credits from $50 per 1,000
Best for mowing crews needing route optimization
Service Autopilot
- Price
- from $49/mo
- Free trial
- Page offers a 'FREE Trial' via 'Sign up yourself!'; trial length and terms not stated
- Prices checked
Service Autopilot is built for lawn care, landscaping, cleaning and snow removal companies, which suits mowing outfits that plow in winter. Startup ($49 a month, billed annually) covers scheduling and dispatch, invoicing with integrated payments, expense tracking and lead management, with one mobile license. Pro ($199) is the plan that matters for lawn crews: route optimization, multi-day job management, a dispatch calendar, job costing, asset and employee tracking and custom reports, with two mobile licenses. Pro Plus ($499) adds automation workflows and five mobile licenses. Elite adds two-way texting, QuickBooks, a client portal and multi-location management, at a price the page does not list.
Good fit if
- Lawn care and landscaping crews needing route optimization and multi-day jobs (Pro, $199/mo)
- Growing companies wanting workflow automations and 5 mobile licenses (Pro Plus, $499/mo)
- Multi-location service businesses on the Elite plan
Skip it if
- Owners wanting month-to-month billing: prices are annual plus an unstated sign-up fee
- Startup-plan teams needing route optimization or more than 1 mobile license
- Buyers wanting QuickBooks sync or two-way texting without paid add-ons or Elite
What works
- Route optimization and multi-day jobs on Pro
- Job costing included from Pro
- Lists lawn care, landscaping and snow removal as core trades
- Upgrades allowed anytime
What doesn't
- Annual contract only, plus a sign-up fee it does not publish
- Startup has no route optimization and one mobile license
- QuickBooks sync and two-way texting need Elite or add-ons priced by phone
- Downgrades only at the end of the contract
Count your mobile licenses. Pro includes two. A three-truck operation where every crew lead needs the app may outgrow Pro, and added app users go through customer success with no listed price. Pro is a $2,388 yearly commitment before the sign-up fee; Pro Plus is $5,988.
Skip it if you want to pay month to month, you want to see the full price before talking to sales, or you need QuickBooks sync on a budget.
| Plan | Users | Month-to-month | Billed annually | Notable features |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Startup | 1 business user, 1 mobile license | Quote | $49/mo |
|
| Pro | 1 business user, 2 mobile licenses | Quote | $199/mo |
|
| Pro Plus | 1 business user, 5 mobile licenses | Quote | $499/mo |
|
| Elite | 2 business users, 8 mobile licenses | Quote | Quote |
|
- Free trial: Page offers a 'FREE Trial' via 'Sign up yourself!'; trial length and terms not stated
- Extra users: Additional app users can be added through the customer success team; price not stated
- Billing: All pricing is based on annual subscription rates; each plan adds a sign-up fee (amount not stated). Downgrades only at end of contract period; upgrades anytime.
- Paid add-ons: Two-way texting (call for pricing below Elite); QuickBooks Online two-way sync (call for pricing below Elite); Accelerate program (call for pricing); Academy (call for pricing); Client Portal (call for pricing); Smart Maps (call for pricing); Email integration for Gmail/Outlook (call for pricing); FleetSharp GPS integration (call for pricing)
GorillaDesk or Service Autopilot: the truck math
GorillaDesk Pro, the plan with recurring billing and drive-time routing, is $99 for one route, $149 for two and $199 for three. Basic runs $49, $99 and $149. Growth runs $149, $249 and $299.
- One truck: GorillaDesk Pro costs $100 a month less than Service Autopilot Pro, and it is month-to-month. Both list routing features.
- Three trucks: both land at $199 a month. GorillaDesk keeps office users free and stays monthly; Service Autopilot adds multi-day jobs and job costing but includes only two mobile licenses.
- Mowing plus installs: Service Autopilot lists multi-day jobs and job costing. GorillaDesk’s plan highlights list neither.
Landscaping design-build and estimating
Best for landscape design-build
LMN
- Price
- from $297/mo
- Free trial
- Not stated on the pricing page; the page offers a live product demo
- Prices checked
LMN is built for landscape companies: maintenance, design-build, hardscaping and snow removal. Its strength is the front end of a job. Starter ($297 a month, aimed at companies under 10 employees) includes budgeting and estimating, scheduling, the LMN Crew app, invoicing and payments, QuickBooks Online integration and basic dashboards, with one office or crew lead license and five crew member licenses. Professional ($648) adds real-time job costing, equipment and material costing, files and photos on documents, Zapier, QuickBooks Desktop and advanced dashboards, with three office and 15 crew licenses.
Good fit if
- Landscape companies under 10 employees needing budgeting, estimating and crew scheduling
- Landscapers with 10+ employees wanting real-time job costing and Zapier integrations
- Multi-location landscaping companies with 100+ users
Skip it if
- Solo operators or tight budgets: plans start at $297/mo plus a one-time onboarding fee
- Buyers wanting a free trial or self-serve signup: the page only offers demos
- QuickBooks Desktop users on a budget: Starter supports QuickBooks Online only
What works
- Budgeting and estimating built for landscape work
- Six licenses included on Starter
- Real-time job costing and equipment costing on Professional
- Greenius crew training available as an add-on on every plan
What doesn't
- Starts at $297/mo plus an onboarding fee it does not publish
- No free trial or self-serve signup listed, demo only
- Starter supports QuickBooks Online only
- Route optimization not listed in plan details
Budget for more than the sticker. Prices are listed as “starting at,” billed monthly after a one-time onboarding fee, and extra licenses cost an unstated amount. Starter alone is $3,564 a year before onboarding. That can make sense for a design-build company where one bad estimate costs more than the software, but it is a lot for a two-person mowing route.
Skip it if you are solo, you run mostly recurring mowing where routing matters more than estimating, or you want to try software before talking to sales.
| Plan | Users | Month-to-month | Billed annually | Notable features |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| LMN Starter | 1 office/crew lead license & 5 crew member licenses | $297/mo | Not listed |
|
| LMN Professional | 3 office/crew lead licenses & 15 crew member licenses | $648/mo | Not listed |
|
| LMN Enterprise | Starts at 100 users | Quote | Quote |
|
- Free trial: Not stated on the pricing page; the page offers a live product demo
- Extra users: Additional licenses are available for a fee (amount not stated)
- Billing: Prices in USD, billed monthly, after a one-time onboarding fee (amount not stated). Listed prices are 'starting at'.
- Payment processing: Not stated; LMN Pay processes credit card, ACH and debit payments
- Paid add-ons: Greenius employee training & development (available as add-on on all plans)
All-rounders for solo mowers and mixed services
Best all-rounder for mixed services
Jobber
- Price
- from $29/mo
- Free trial
- 14 days, no credit card (Grow features)
- Prices checked
Jobber is a generalist that lists lawn care and landscaping among its trades. Core ($49 a month, or $29 billed annually, and $21 for the first year on annual prepay) covers quotes, invoices, online booking and scheduling, online payments and a basic website. Connect ($139, or $99 annual, for one user) adds automated client reminders, quote and invoice follow-ups, automatic payments and QuickBooks Online sync; its 5-user tier is $199, or $149 annual. Grow adds quotes with photos and optional line items, handy for offering add-ons like mulch or aeration on a cleanup quote, plus job costing and two-way SMS.
Good fit if
- Solo operators willing to prepay annually (Core is $29/mo after the first-year promo)
- Owners who want clients to approve quotes and pay online without phone tag
- Mixed-trade businesses that don't fit a niche tool
Skip it if
- Anyone who must stay month-to-month (list prices run 34–69% above the annual rate)
- Teams that need job costing or two-way texting on a budget (both start at Grow)
The gap for lawn routes: the Jobber plan details we track do not list route optimization, recurring billing by name or material tracking. Crew scheduling is named on Plus ($499, or $399 annual, for 5 users). For ten people, Jobber sells 10-user tiers: Connect at $299 ($229 annual) or Plus at $599 ($449 annual). Paying monthly on Core costs $240 a year more than annual.
Skip it if you run dense treatment routes and want routing and material tracking out of the box, or you must stay month-to-month. Comparing generalists? See Jobber vs Housecall Pro and our Jobber pricing guide.
Cheapest solo start
QuoteIQ
- Price
- from $29.99/mo
- Free trial
- 14 days
- Prices checked
QuoteIQ is a quoting-first app built mainly for exterior cleaning, but it lists lawn care among its trades. Essentials ($29.99 a month, 1 user) covers estimates, invoices, scheduling, online payments, customer financing, a client database and review requests. Beginner ($99.99, 2 users) adds MapMeasure Pro satellite measuring, so you can measure a property from imagery before quoting, plus expense tracking. Route optimization does not arrive until Elite ($299.99, 10 users), alongside instant online quotes and booking, pipelines and inventory.
Good fit if
- Pressure washing, window cleaning and other exterior services that quote from measurements
- Solo operators who want quoting, invoicing and payments for about $30/mo month-to-month
Skip it if
- Buyers who want years of independent reviews (it's newer than Jobber or Housecall Pro)
- Small crews that need automation (texting/email automation starts at the $199.99 Pro plan)
QuoteIQ’s yearly billing charges 10 months for 12, paid upfront, so Elite is $2,999.90 a year. Plans include monthly IQ credits, and below Elite each proposal costs 100 credits. It is newer than Jobber, with fewer years of independent reviews.
Skip it if you need routing on a small budget. A solo mower who wants optimized routes would pay $299.99 for a 10-user plan, while GorillaDesk Pro includes drive-time routing for $99.
Which plan includes what
| Compared on | GorillaDesk | Service Autopilot | LMN | Jobber | QuoteIQ |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Route optimization | Basic routing on Basic; drive-time routing from Pro | From Pro ($199) | Not listed | Not listed | Elite ($299.99) |
| Materials or inventory | Material tracking from Basic | Asset and expense tracking from Pro | Equipment and material costing on Professional | Not listed | Inventory on Elite |
| Estimating | Estimates from Basic; map-based estimating on Growth | Not named in plan highlights | Budgeting and estimating from Starter | Quotes from Core; photos and optional line items from Grow | Estimates from Essentials; satellite measuring from Beginner |
| Recurring billing or autopay | Recurring billing from Pro | Integrated payments from Startup; recurring not specified | Invoicing and payments from Starter; recurring not specified | Automatic payments from Connect | Online payments from Essentials; recurring not specified |
| Job costing | Not listed | From Pro | Real-time on Professional | From Grow | From Pro |
| QuickBooks | Online sync from Pro | Elite, or paid add-on | Online on Starter; Desktop on Professional | Online sync from Connect | From Pro |
| Texting | Automated texts from Basic; number and credits extra | Two-way on Elite, or paid add-on | Not listed | Reminders from Connect; two-way SMS from Grow | In-app texting from Pro |
Seasonal billing and treatment records: test these in the trial
None of the five pricing pages name seasonal prepay, equal monthly payment plans or per-application chemical logs. Here is what they do list, and what to check:
- Seasonal or installment billing: GorillaDesk Pro lists recurring billing and Jobber Connect lists automatic payments. Service Autopilot and LMN list invoicing with integrated payments; LMN Pay takes card, ACH and debit. Set up one test client on a season split into monthly payments and run it through.
- Treatment records: GorillaDesk lists material tracking from Basic, LMN lists equipment and material costing on Professional, and QuoteIQ lists inventory on Elite. Check whether each records the product, amount and property per visit, not just stock on hand.
- Winter work: Service Autopilot and LMN both list snow removal among the trades they serve.
On free tools: LawnStarter advertises free lawn care business software, and Upper’s lawn care routing roundup describes Yardbook as free and suited to small operations with simple needs. We have not reviewed either. They can bridge a first season, but check routing and billing limits before you rely on them.
How to choose
- Solo mower, first season: QuoteIQ Essentials ($29.99, monthly) or Jobber Core ($29 billed annually) for quotes, scheduling and payments. Add routing when your list grows.
- Recurring mowing or treatment routes, 1–3 trucks: GorillaDesk Pro. Recurring billing and drive-time routing at $99 a route, with office staff free.
- Mowing crews with multi-day jobs and job costing, ready for an annual contract: Service Autopilot Pro at $199 a month.
- Design-build or hardscape projects, 5–10 employees: LMN Starter, or Professional when you want real-time job costing.
- Mixed services, or you mainly want clients to approve quotes and pay online: Jobber.
- Trial with a real route. Load one day of recurring stops, optimize it, invoice three clients and record one treatment. If the software cannot do that cleanly in the trial, it will not get easier in April.
For most maintenance businesses running recurring routes, GorillaDesk is the lowest-risk start: monthly billing, routing on every plan and free office users.
Start a GorillaDesk free trial(opens the vendor's site in a new tab)More reading: Best field service software · Jobber alternatives · QuoteIQ pricing explained · Best pressure washing software if you also wash driveways and houses
FAQ
What is the best software for a small lawn care business?
For a solo mower, QuoteIQ Essentials ($29.99/mo, month-to-month) or Jobber Core ($29/mo billed annually) covers quotes, scheduling and payments. If you run recurring mowing or treatment routes, GorillaDesk Pro at $99 per route adds recurring billing and drive-time routing, with office users free.
Is there free lawn care business software?
None of the five tools here has a free plan. GorillaDesk and Service Autopilot list free trials, Jobber and QuoteIQ offer 14 days, and LMN offers a demo. LawnStarter advertises free lawn care software, and Upper's routing roundup describes Yardbook as free for small operations; we have not reviewed either.
Which lawn care software has route optimization?
GorillaDesk includes basic routing up to 25 stops on Basic ($49) and drive-time routing on Pro ($99 per route). Service Autopilot adds route optimization on Pro ($199/mo, annual), and QuoteIQ on Elite ($299.99/mo). The Jobber and LMN plan details we track do not list it.
What software do landscapers use for design-build estimating?
LMN is built for it: budgeting and estimating start on Starter ($297/mo plus an onboarding fee), and real-time job costing is on Professional ($648/mo). Note that none of these five list landscape design drawing tools; they handle estimates, scheduling and costing, not plans.
Can I pay for lawn care software month to month?
GorillaDesk, QuoteIQ and Jobber all bill monthly, though Jobber Core costs $240 a year more monthly than annual. LMN bills monthly after a one-time onboarding fee. Service Autopilot prices are annual only, plus a sign-up fee it does not publish.
Sources
- GorillaDesk pricing page (checked Oct 27, 2026)
- Service Autopilot pricing page (checked Oct 27, 2026)
- LMN pricing page (checked Oct 27, 2026)
- Jobber pricing page (checked Oct 27, 2026)
- QuoteIQ pricing page (checked Oct 27, 2026)
- Upper: lawn care routing software roundup
- LawnStarter: free lawn care software
Related
4 Jobber Alternatives Worth Considering in 2026 (by Use Case)
Jobber alternatives matched to the reason you're leaving: price, routes and GPS, measuring and quoting, or route-based recurring service.
Buying guideBest Software for Cleaning Businesses (2026): 5 Picks by How You Book Clients
The best cleaning business software for maid services and small commercial cleaners, picked by business model, with verified 2026 prices by team size.
Buying guideBest Field Service Software for Small Home-Service Businesses (2026)
The best field service software for cleaning, lawn care, pressure washing and other small crews, picked by crew size and trade, with verified 2026 prices.
Buying guideBest Pest Control Software for Small Business (2026): 4 Picks by Routes and Crew Size
GorillaDesk, Jobber, Housecall Pro and Workiz compared for small pest control crews: routing, material tracking and per-route vs per-user prices.