Jobber vs Service Autopilot (2026): Lawn Care Costs, Routes and Contracts
Based on official pricing pages, product documentation and public owner feedback. We have not run a hands-on trial for this page yet. How we review
Winner for lawn care
- Solo rig: Jobber. Core costs $29/mo on annual billing ($21/mo the first year) or $49 month-to-month. Service Autopilot Startup is $49/mo billed annually plus a sign-up fee it does not state, and neither entry plan lists route optimization.
- 3–5 person crew: It depends on route optimization, which only Service Autopilot lists (from Pro). Pro includes 2 mobile licenses, so 3–5 field users means Pro Plus at $499/mo or extra licenses at an unpublished price. If Jobber’s trial shows you can route without it, Jobber Grow’s 5-user tier at $229/mo on annual billing is the cheaper pick.
- Pure software cost: Jobber, on monthly or annual billing. Service Autopilot is annual-only with a sign-up fee, and its published prices never undercut Jobber’s at a comparable tier.
Both tools run lawn crews, but they come from different directions. Jobber is a generalist that sells polish on the client side: online booking, online quotes and payments, automatic payments. Service Autopilot is built for lawn care, cleaning and snow removal firms, and its Pro plan lists route optimization and multi-day job tools that Jobber’s plans don’t mention.
The catch is the contract. Service Autopilot only sells annual subscriptions, adds a sign-up fee it doesn’t publish, and lets you downgrade only at the end of the contract. Jobber lets you go month-to-month, at a steep premium.
Lawn care workflow, feature by feature
| Compared on | Jobber | Service Autopilot |
|---|---|---|
| Recurring visit scheduling | Not listed as recurring; scheduling and online booking from Core. Verify in trial | Not listed as recurring; schedule and dispatch from Startup. Verify in trial |
| Route optimization | Not listed on any plan. Verify in trial | Pro ($199/mo) and up |
| Crew dispatch | Crew scheduling on Plus ($399/mo annual, 5 users) | Schedule and dispatch on Startup; dispatch calendar on Pro |
| Multi-day jobs (installs) | Not listed. Verify in trial | Pro and up |
| Field seats included | 1, 5, 10 or 15 users by tier; $29/mo per added user | 1 (Startup), 2 (Pro), 5 (Pro Plus), 8 (Elite) mobile licenses; extra price not stated |
| Treatment or application tracking | Not listed. Verify in trial | Not listed. Verify in trial |
| Seasonal or prepaid billing | Not listed. Verify in trial | Not listed. Verify in trial |
| Automatic payments | Connect and up | Not listed; integrated payments from Startup |
| Job costing | Grow and up | Pro and up |
| GPS fleet tracking | Not listed. Verify in trial | FleetSharp GPS integration, call for pricing |
Route optimization. This is the clearest split. Service Autopilot lists it on Pro, Pro Plus and Elite, but not on Startup. Jobber’s plan features don’t mention it at any price. If you run a full day of mowing stops, ask Jobber during the trial whether it can order your stops, and on which plan, before you commit.
Field seats. Jobber counts users and sells them in tiers of 1, 5, 10 and 15, with $29/mo for each person past the tier. Service Autopilot counts mobile licenses: 2 on Pro, 5 on Pro Plus. It says extra app users are added through its customer success team but doesn’t publish a price, so a third crew member on Pro is an unknown cost.
Multi-day jobs and dispatch. If you do landscape installs that run several days, Service Autopilot lists multi-day job management and a dispatch calendar on Pro. Jobber lists crew scheduling only on Plus, its 5-user-minimum plan at $399/mo on annual billing ($280/mo the first year).
Treatment programs and seasonal billing. Neither vendor’s pricing page lists fertilizer or weed-control application records, or seasonal and prepaid billing. If you sell multi-step treatment programs or spread contract billing across the year, set one real program up in each trial. Jobber does list automatic payments from Connect, so recurring clients can be charged without chasing invoices. If treatments are most of your work, also look at route-priced options like GorillaDesk, built for pest control, lawn care and pool service.
24-month cost
This compares the tier where each product lists job costing: Jobber Grow and Service Autopilot Pro, moving to Pro Plus when a crew needs more than Pro’s 2 mobile licenses.
- Users = people who need the field app. On Service Autopilot each takes one mobile license; the included business user covers the office login.
- Jobber annual = first-year promo price, then the regular annual rate in year two. Extra users are $29/mo and assumed not discounted by the promo. Each figure uses the cheapest tier-plus-extras combination.
- Service Autopilot is annual only. Its sign-up fee isn’t stated, so it’s excluded. To match Jobber Grow’s two-way texting and QuickBooks Online sync, Service Autopilot below Elite needs add-ons it prices only by phone; those are excluded too.
- Jobber has no listed route optimization to buy, so nothing closes that gap in the other direction.
- Card processing fees are excluded.
On entry plans, a solo operator pays $600 over two years for Jobber Core on annual billing, or $1,176 month-to-month. Service Autopilot Startup is $1,176 plus the sign-up fee.
| Team size | Jobber Grow, monthly | Jobber Grow, annual | Service Autopilot (annual only) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 user | $4,776 | $3,048 | $4,776 on Pro + sign-up fee |
| 3 users | $6,168 (1 user + 2 extras) | $4,440 (1 user + 2 extras) | $11,976 on Pro Plus + sign-up fee; Pro + 1 extra license: Not published |
| 6 users | $7,872 (5-user tier + 1 extra) | $5,376 (5-user tier + 1 extra) | Not published (Pro Plus + 1 extra license, or Elite) |
The gap is mostly seats: Service Autopilot Pro includes only 2 mobile licenses and doesn’t price a third, so a 3-person crew jumps to Pro Plus and pays $7,536 more than Jobber Grow on annual billing over two years, before the sign-up fee.
Who should pick which
Best for solo rigs and budget crews
Jobber
- Price
- from $29/mo
- Free trial
- 14 days, no credit card (Grow features)
- Prices checked
Good fit if
- Solo operators willing to prepay annually (Core is $29/mo after the first-year promo)
- Owners who want clients to approve quotes and pay online without phone tag
- Mixed-trade businesses that don't fit a niche tool
Skip it if
- Anyone who must stay month-to-month (list prices run 34–69% above the annual rate)
- Teams that need job costing or two-way texting on a budget (both start at Grow)
What works
- Month-to-month option
- 14-day trial with no credit card
- Automatic payments and client reminders from Connect
- Published price for every user tier
What doesn't
- Route optimization not listed on any plan
- Job costing and two-way texting start at Grow
- Crew scheduling only on Plus
- Monthly prices run well above annual rates
Best for route-heavy lawn crews
Service Autopilot
- Price
- from $49/mo
- Free trial
- Page offers a 'FREE Trial' via 'Sign up yourself!'; trial length and terms not stated
- Prices checked
Good fit if
- Lawn care and landscaping crews needing route optimization and multi-day jobs (Pro, $199/mo)
- Growing companies wanting workflow automations and 5 mobile licenses (Pro Plus, $499/mo)
- Multi-location service businesses on the Elite plan
Skip it if
- Owners wanting month-to-month billing: prices are annual plus an unstated sign-up fee
- Startup-plan teams needing route optimization or more than 1 mobile license
- Buyers wanting QuickBooks sync or two-way texting without paid add-ons or Elite
What works
- Route optimization from Pro
- Multi-day jobs and dispatch calendar on Pro
- Job costing on Pro
- Upgrade anytime
What doesn't
- Annual contract only
- Sign-up fee amount not stated
- Downgrades only at end of contract
- Extra mobile licenses not priced
- QuickBooks and two-way texting cost extra below Elite
- Elite price not published
Skip Jobber if software route optimization is non-negotiable and you can’t confirm it in the trial, or you run multi-day installs that need their own scheduling tools.
Skip Service Autopilot if you need to stay month-to-month, you’re solo on a single route (Startup has no route optimization and costs more than Jobber Core), or you want QuickBooks sync without calling sales.
Ease of setup matters too. In one r/lawncare thread asking about Service Autopilot, a poster who had quit Jobber still called it a lot more user friendly and said they figured everything out on their own. Service Autopilot leans on training: Pro Plus includes software trainings, Elite adds onboarding specialists, and its Academy is a call-for-pricing add-on.
How to run the trials:
- Jobber gives 14 days with Grow features and no credit card. Load one real route and ask support directly about route optimization.
- Service Autopilot offers a free trial but doesn’t state its length. Ask how long it runs, what the sign-up fee is, and what a third mobile license costs, in writing.
- Start small on Service Autopilot. Upgrades are allowed anytime, but downgrades wait until the contract ends.
Before either trial, check your per-cut prices with our lawn mowing price calculator. For more options, see the best lawn care business software, Jobber alternatives and our Jobber pricing breakdown.
Try Jobber free for 14 days(opens the vendor's site in a new tab)Start a Service Autopilot free trial(opens the vendor's site in a new tab)
FAQ
Is Service Autopilot cheaper than Jobber?
Not on published prices. Service Autopilot Startup is $49/mo billed annually versus Jobber Core at $29/mo annual ($21 the first year), and Service Autopilot Pro is $199/mo versus Jobber Grow at $149/mo annual for one user. Service Autopilot also adds a sign-up fee it doesn't state.
Does Jobber have route optimization?
Route optimization isn't listed in any of Jobber's plan features. Service Autopilot lists it from Pro ($199/mo, annual). Ask Jobber about it during the 14-day trial if routing matters to you.
Can I pay for Service Autopilot month to month?
No. All Service Autopilot pricing is based on annual subscriptions, each plan adds a sign-up fee of an unstated amount, and you can only downgrade at the end of the contract.
Why is Jobber so expensive?
Mostly month-to-month billing: Jobber's monthly list prices run 34–69% above its annual rates. Job costing and two-way texting also start on Grow ($149/mo annual for one user). On annual billing, Core is $29/mo.
Is Jobber a CRM?
It covers the client side of a service business: quotes, online booking, automated reminders and follow-ups, invoicing and payments. A Pipeline add-on ($49/mo) and Marketing Suite ($99/mo) are sold separately and included on Plus.
Sources
Related
4 Jobber Alternatives Worth Considering in 2026 (by Use Case)
Jobber alternatives matched to the reason you're leaving: price, routes and GPS, measuring and quoting, or route-based recurring service.
Buying guideBest Software for Cleaning Businesses (2026): 5 Picks by How You Book Clients
The best cleaning business software for maid services and small commercial cleaners, picked by business model, with verified 2026 prices by team size.
Buying guideBest Field Service Software for Small Home-Service Businesses (2026)
The best field service software for cleaning, lawn care, pressure washing and other small crews, picked by crew size and trade, with verified 2026 prices.
Buying guideBest Software for Lawn Care Businesses (2026): 5 Picks for Routes and Design-Build
The best lawn care business software for solo mowers to 10-person crews, picked by route work vs design-build, with verified 2026 prices by number of trucks.